Preview of Darlene’s Administration

Posted: July 2, 2010 in Political

Previewing the nature of the governance of an incoming administration is a political forecasting, which could hardly have any scientific basis. But equipped with a comprehensive appreciation of ONE’s political and governance fundamentals and history, any person could venture on political forecasting involving an incoming administration, and still turn out accurate on his postulation of future political events.

If I were to enjoy the luxury of “little” vanity, I can rightfully claim that, of the 500,000 residents of General Santos City, I am one among the very few who are privy of the fundamentals and the evolution of the politics and governance of the Antonino family.

Again, please excuse my vanity if I declare here that my quite complete privity of the Antonino family’s politics and governance makes me an “authority” in the task of foretelling the outcome of the maiden administration of the incoming City Mayor, Darlene Magnolia R. Antonino-Custodio.

I have strong basis for this claim. Those who were hooked on their radio and television sets from 1987 to 2001 would readily agree with me that I was, once, the harshest critic of the Antonino brand of politics and governance.

To effectively play this role, I constantly studied and analyzed the history and political ways of the Antoninos for the primary purpose of hunting for loopholes and gray areas to qualify the logic of my venomous tirades against them.

In fact, to add power to my verbal cannons, I traced the roots of Darlene’s father, Adel Antonino, to a group of English prisoners who, in 1817, were exiled by Captain James Cooke to a continent now known as Australia.

Of course, admittedly now, it was a commentary founded on malice for I was then leading a struggle against the, then, incumbent city mayor, Adel Antonino, as a public sector union leader. Actually, such a claim of mine lacks basis in history.

I have been told by those in the know (this fact carries a heavier weight) that the forebears of Adel Antonino’s mother, Magnolia Welburn, who later married Guadencio Antonino, can be traced from a group of Irish immigrants who peopled Australia during the renaissance of modernization.

There are still more in my experience which could ably predicate my claim (I will try to present them in my future writings), but I think that the above discussion is already enough to establish my “authority” to make a forecast on what the incoming administration of Darlene Antonino-Custodio would become within the next three years.

Let me begin:

-I am very certain that the formulation of a welfare and humanist program would be Darlene’s priority, not only as an amelioration strategy, but as an economic strategy aimed at increasing the family’s per capita income. Certainly, Darlene would veer away from the traditional view that a welfare program is just an expense program and, therefore, an odd thing in the economy. My study of the Antonino economics is that the implementation of a welfare program, if done under a well laid-down framework, increases the expendable income of the poorest of the poor by radically reducing their household expenses. It is my opinion that Darlene, as a well-learned individual, will do this because she is fully aware that so many advance states had embark on a comprehensive welfare program not only as a social balancer in favor of the poor but also as an effective solution to poverty-related social problems, and become successful in the process.

-I am very sure that Darlene would focus primarily on economic or income-based infrastructure projects, which would connect the city’s center to different food production communities, as a strategy to revitalize the basic communities by increasing production and by ensuring the easy access of food production communities to local, domestic and international markets. I say this because, based on my personal study, all the Antonino’s programs and projects in the past were formulated and implemented, with an eye sharply focused towards the establishment of self-reliant and self-sustaining communities. Thus, I see Darlene’s administration as glory days for social institutions in both rural and urban communities.

-I am convinced that the maintenance and improvement of the city’s peace and order condition will be the center-stage of Darlene’s administration, knowing fully well its indispensable role in the success of any economic development endeavors. But, in doing this, Darlene will deviate from the traditional practice of making the government armed instruments as primary forces to ensure social tranquility. I am also sure that the strengthening of both formal and alternative centers of power in the barangays to ensure people’s access to justice and community resources will be Darlene’s primary peace and order strategy. With this strategy in place, the coercive instruments of the state will only play a supportive role in the city’s peace and order drive under her administration.

-It is my opinion that Darlene will exert substantial efforts to ensure the establishment of investments with locally-driven capital, without looking askance at environment-friendly foreign ventures that bring into the city liquid capital, and not just borrow money from local or domestic banks for their investment needs. Appurtenant to this, I am sure that Darlene will, foremost, encourage local investors that would engage in labor-intensive ventures to ensure the steady increase in local employment rate and prevent the abortive effects of the massive outflow of capital, resources and income.

-Towards this end, Darlene will strengthen and empower the local bureaucracy, headed by a dynamic city administrator, to enable it to pursue its tasks without much supervision from her so she could focus her attention more on important social mobilization works. With an empowered bureaucracy in place, we will be seeing Darlene actively leading the people towards a direction which she will formulate with the democratic participation of various key players in the economy. Thus, we will also be seeing a city where the wider segments of the population are actively involved in the affairs of the local government.

Leave a Reply

